WPC 662/2022

1

ITEM NO.48 COURT NO.1 SECTION X

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition (Civil) No.662/2022

CENTRAL ADMINISTRATIVE TRIBUNAL BAR ASSOCIATION KOLKATA & ANR.

Petitioner(s)

VERSUS

UNION OF INDIA & ORS.

Respondent(s)

(With IA No.129992/2022 - APPROPRIATE ORDERS/DIRECTIONS, IA No. 164402/2022 - APPROPRIATE ORDERS/DIRECTIONS, IA No.157968/2022 - DELETING THE NAME OF PETITIONER/RESPONDENT and IA No.164391/2022 - INTERVENTION APPLICATION)

Date: 16-01-2023 These matters were called on for hearing today.

CORAM:

HON'BLE THE CHIEF JUSTICE

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE PAMIDIGHANTAM SRI NARASIMHA

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE J.B. PARDIWALA

For Petitioner(s) Mr. P.C. Ghosh, Adv.

Mr. Sukesh Ghosh, Adv.

Mr. Jaydeep Chhatterjee, Adv.

Mr. Sanjay Saini, Adv.

Mr. Shiv Kumar Vats, Adv.

Mr. Chand Qureshi, AOR

For Respondent(s) Mr. Balbir Singh, A.S.G.

Mr. Sachin Sharma, Adv.

Mr. Rajat Nair, Adv.

Mr. Ashok Panigrahi, Adv.

Mr. Anandh Venkataramani, Adv.

Mrs. Vijayalakshmi Venkataramani, Adv.

Mr. Vinayak Mehrotra, Adv.

Ms. Mansi Sood, Adv.

Mr. Chitvan Singhal, Adv.

Ms. Sonali Jain, Adv.

Mr. Abhishek Kumar Pandey, Adv.

Mr. Raman Pandey, Adv.

Mr. Arvind Kumar Sharma, AOR

Ms. Mayuri Raghuvanshi, AOR

Mr. Sanjay Upadhyay, Adv.

Ms. Mansi Bachani, Adv.

Ms. Gitanjali Sanyal, Adv.

Mr. Vyom Raghuvanshi, Adv.

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

IA Nos 4171/2023, 4172/2023 & 4175/2023

- Out of a sanctioned strength of 10 Judicial Members and 10 Expert Members, the National Green Tribunal has 6 Judicial Members and 5 Expert Members. One of the Members of the NGT (Justice Sheo Kumar Singh) is due to demit office today (16 January 2023).
- The note which has been placed on the record by Mr Balbir Singh, Additional Solicitor General indicates that (i) steps have been initiated for selection of Judicial Members; and (ii) an advertisement was published in the national daily on 16 December 2022 and the last date of receiving applications was 12 January 2023.
- 3 Section 4(1) of the National Green Tribunal Act 2010 provides that the Tribunal shall consist of not less than ten but subject to a maximum of twenty full time Judicial Members and the same number of Expert Members.
- 4 Pending further orders, we direct that until the process of selection of the Judicial Members is completed and the new Judicial Members take charge,

3

Justice Sheo Kumar Singh, shall continue to remain in office subject to his consent for continuance.

- A copy of this order shall be communicated immediately by the Registrar (Judicial) to the Registrar of the NGT to obviate any interruption in the holding of the office by Justice Sheo Kumar Singh.
- 6 The Interlocutory Applications are disposed of.
- 7 IA Nos 164391/2022 and IA Nos 164407 of 2022 are dismissed as withdrawn.
- 8 List the Petition on 27 January 2023.

(CHETAN KUMAR) A.R.-cum-P.S. (SAROJ KUMARI GAUR) Assistant Registrar