

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

The Collegium of the Supreme Court has recommended the names of eleven Additional Judges of the High Court of Punjab and Haryana, for appointment as permanent judges in the following terms:

- (i) Ms Justice Nidhi Gupta,
- (ii) Shri Justice Sanjay Vashisth,
- (iii) Shri Justice Tribhuvan Dahiya,
- (iv) Shri Justice Namit Kumar,
- (v) Shri Justice Harkesh Manuja,
- (vi) Shri Justice Aman Chaudhary,
- (vii) Shri Justice Naresh Singh @ Naresh Singh Shekhawat,
- (viii) Shri Justice Harsh Bunger,
- (ix) Shri Justice Jagmohan Bansal,
- (x) Shri Justice Deepak Manchanda, and
- (xi) Shri Justice Alok Jain @ Alok Kumar Jain.

On 20 May 2023, the Collegium of the High Court of Punjab and Haryana unanimously recommended the above Additional Judges for appointment as permanent judges of that High Court. The Chief



Ministers and Governors of the States of Punjab and Haryana have concurred with the above recommendation.

In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, the judges of the Supreme Court conversant with the affairs of the High Court of Punjab and Haryana were consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the above Judges for being appointed as permanent judges.

The Committee of two judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of the above Additional Judges.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above Additional Judges for appointment as permanent judges, we have scrutinized the material placed on record including the opinion of the consultee-judges and the report of the Judgment Evaluation Committee. On an overall consideration of the above proposal, the Collegium is of the view that (i) Ms Justice Nidhi Gupta, S/Shri Justices (ii) Sanjay Vashisth, (iii) Tribhuvan Dahiya, (iv) Namit Kumar, (v) Harkesh Manuja, (vi) Aman Chaudhary, (vii) Naresh Singh @ Naresh Singh



Shekhawat, (viii) Harsh Bunger, (ix) Jagmohan Bansal, (x) Deepak Manchanda, and (xi) Alok Jain @ Alok Kumar Jain, Additional Judges, are fit and suitable for being appointed as permanent judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that (i) Ms Justice Nidhi Gupta, S/Shri Justices (ii) Sanjay Vashisth, (iii) Tribhuvan Dahiya, (iv) Namit Kumar, (v) Harkesh Manuja, (vi) Aman Chaudhary, (vii) Naresh Singh @ Naresh Singh Shekhawat, (viii) Harsh Bunger, (ix) Jagmohan Bansal, (x) Deepak Manchanda, and (xi) Alok Jain @ Alok Kumar Jain, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent judges of the High Court of Punjab & Haryana against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjay Kishan Kaul), J

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

14 September 2023



SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

The Collegium of the Supreme Court has recommended the names of seven Additional Judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad, for appointment as permanent judges in the following terms:

- (i) Shri Justice Umesh Chandra Sharma,
- (ii) Smt Justice Renu Agarwal,
- (iii) Shri Justice Ram Manohar Narayan Mishra,
- (iv) Shri Justice Mayank Kumar Jain,
- (v) Shri Justice Shiv Shanker Prasad,
- (vi) Shri Justice Gajendra Kumar,
- (vii) Shri Justice Nalin Kumar Srivastava.

On 1 May 2023, the Collegium of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad unanimously made the above recommendation. The Chief Minister and Governor of the State of Uttar Pradesh have concurred with the recommendation.



In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, the judges of the Supreme Court who are conversant with the affairs of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad were consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the Additional Judges for being appointed as permanent judges.

The Committee of two judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of the Additional Judges.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the Additional Judges for appointment as permanent judges, we have scrutinized the material placed on record including the opinion of the consultee-judges and the report of the Judgment Evaluation Committee. On an overall consideration of the above proposal, the Collegium is of the view that S/Shri Justices (i) Umesh Chandra Sharma, (ii) Smt. Renu



Agarwal, (iii) Ram Manohar Narayan Mishra, (iv) Mayank Kumar Jain, (v) Shiv Shanker Prasad, (vi) Gajendra Kumar, and (vii) Nalin Kumar Srivastava, Additional Judges, are fit and suitable for being appointed as permanent judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri Justices (i) Umesh Chandra Sharma, (ii) Smt. Renu Agarwal, (iii) Ram Manohar Narayan Mishra, (iv) Mayank Kumar Jain, (v) Shiv Shanker Prasad, (vi) Gajendra Kumar, and (vii) Nalin Kumar Srivastava, Additional Judges, be appointed as permanent judges of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad against the existing vacancies.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjay Kishan Kaul), J

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

14 September 2023