The University Grants Commission has issued a public notice listing a total of 21 fake universities across India. As per the list, Delhi tops the chart with as many as 8 fake universities followed by the State of Uttar Pradesh which has 4.

"Students and Public at large are hereby informed that presently following 21 self-styled, unrecognized institutions which are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act, have been declared as fake universities and these are not empowered to confer any degree.", the notice issued by UGC read while listing down the name of the universities.

As per Section 22 of the UGC Act 1956, the right of conferring or granting degrees can be exercised only by a university established or incorporated by or under a Central Act, Provincial Act or a State Act or an institution deemed to be an university under Section 3 or an institution specifically empowered by an Act of Parliament to confer or grant degrees.

Further, Section 23 prohibits the use of the word 'University' by an institution other than a university established as above.

The following is the list of institutions declared as fake by UGC-


• All India Institute of Public and Physical Health Sciences, Alipur, Delhi

• Commercial University Ltd. Daryaganj, Delhi

• United Nations University, Delhi

• Vocational University, Delhi

• ADR-Centric Juridical University, New Delhi

• Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, New Delhi

• Viswakarma Open University for Self-Employment, New Delhi

• Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University), Rohini, Delhi


• Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Belgaum, Karnataka


• St. John's University, Kishanattam, Kerala


• Raja Arabic University, Nagpur

West Bengal

• Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata

• Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research, Kolkata

Uttar Pradesh

• Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Allahabad, UP

• National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur, UP

• Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (open university), Aligarh, UP

• Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad, Lucknow, UP


• Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, Rourkela

• North Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology, Odisha


• Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, Puducherry

Andhra Pradesh

• Christ New Testament Deemed University, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh