On Wednesday, the newly elected nine Delhi High Court Judges took an oath of office with Acting Chief Justice Vipin Sanghi administering the oath.

The new appointments were - Justice Tara Vitasta Ganju, Justice Mini Pushkarna, Justice Justice Tushar Rao Gedela, Justice Manmeet Pritam Singh Arora, Justice Gaurang Kanth, and Justice Saurabh Banerjee, taking the total strength of the Court to 44.

The swearing-in ceremony took place in the court of the Chief Justice in the presence of other High Court Judges, Lawyers, and family members of the newly sworn-in Judges.

The Central Government had notified the appointment of the new Judges who were practicing lawyers on May 13.

The Supreme Court Collegium had recommended the names of the Judges earlier this month, except for Justice Ganju and Justice Pushkarna whose elevation proposal was cleared in August 2020 for appointment to the High Court.

The new appointments take the total number of judges in the High Court to 44, including 12 women Judges. The sanctioned strength of the High Court is 60.

With PTI Inputs