The Ministry of Law and Justice has recommended names to be appointed Chief Justices of various High Courts.

The following names were recommended:

Justice Gurmeet Singh as Acting Chief Justice of Punjab and Haryana High Court

Justice S. Vaidyanathan as Chief Justice of the Meghalaya High Court

Justice Arun Bhansali as Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court

Justice Vijay Bishnoi as Chief Justice of the Gauhati High Court

Justice Chakradhari Sharan Singh as Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court

Kumari Justice Ritu Bahri as Chief Justice of the Uttarakhand High Court

Justice Manindra Mohan Shrivastava as Chief Justice of the Rajasthan High Court

Justice Gurmeet Singh

Born on November 1, 1965, he earned a B.A. (Hons.) in 1986 and an L.L.B. in 1989. Enrolling as an Advocate in 1989, he represented entities such as the Union Territory, Chandigarh Administration, and the Punjab and Haryana High Court. Elevated to the Bench on September 30, 2011, he became a permanent judge on January 24, 2014.

Justice S. Vaidyanathan

He pursued his graduation in B.A. (Economics) from 1979 to 1982, followed by a B.L. at Madras Law College from 1982 to 1985. In 1986, he obtained a Post Graduate Diploma in Personal Management, Labour Welfare, and Industrial Relations. Enrolled as an Advocate on 27th August 1986, he practised in the High Court of Judicature at Madras. He became a permanent Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Madras on 14th April 2015.

Justice Arun Bhansali

Born on October 15, 1967, and completed his graduation in B.Com., LL.B. He was enrolled on July 08 1989 and elevated on January 08, 2013. His professional area of specialization includes Civil, Company & Election Law. He provided advice and representation for numerous corporate clients in various legal settings, including courts, Company Law Board, tribunals, and forums.

Justice Vijay Bishnoi

Born on March 26, 1964, with an LL.B. qualification, the individual enrolled on July 08, 1989, and achieved elevation on January 08, 2013. Specializing in Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, and Election Law, he served as the Additional Central Govt. Standing Counsel from 2000 to 2004. Between 1991 and 1998, he was Counsel for various government departments, including Rural Development & Panchayat Raj, Stamps & Registration, Co-operative, Labour, Transport, and Excise Departments in the Government of Rajasthan.

Justice Chakradhari Sharan Singh

Born on January 20, 1963, he joined the legal profession by enrolling as an Advocate on October 30, 1990, following the completion of his LL.B. Degree. His journey in the legal field included serving as the Additional Standing Counsel for the Central Government from 1998 to October 2001. He assumed the role of Additional Advocate General for the Government of Bihar in December 2010. This position continued until his elevation as an Additional Judge at the Patna High Court on April 5, 2012.

Kumari Justice Ritu Bahri

Born on October 11, 1962, in Jalandhar, She comes from a lineage of distinguished lawyers. She completed her schooling at Carmel Convent School, Chandigarh, and graduated in Economics (Hons.) from Government College for Women, Chandigarh, in 1982. Later, she earned her law degree from Punjab University, Chandigarh, in 1985. Enrolled as an Advocate in 1986, she began her practice in the Punjab & Haryana High Court. Recognizing her legal expertise, she was appointed as a Judge of the Punjab & Haryana High Court on August 16, 2010.

Justice Manindra Mohan Shrivastava

Born on March 6, 1964, in Bilaspur, completed his schooling in Bilaspur and obtained his B.Sc. degree from CMD College, Bilaspur. He pursued LL.B. at K R Law College, Bilaspur, earning a gold medal. In 1987, he enrolled as an Advocate with the Bar Council of M.P., Jabalpur, and commenced his practice at the District Court in Raigarh and the High Court. Additionally, he was actively associated with Rotary International. Recognized for his legal expertise, he was designated as a Senior Advocate on January 31, 2005. His judicial journey commenced when he was elevated as a Judge of the Chhattisgarh High Court on December 10, 2009. Later, he was transferred to the Rajasthan High Court, where he took the oath of office on October 18, 2021.

Click here to read/download Notifications