The Union Ministry of Law and Justice, Legislative Department, has published official Hindi translations of the three criminal laws in the Gazette Of India.

In February, the Central Government had notified that the new criminal laws would be replacing the Indian Penal Code 1860 (IPC), Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973, and the Indian Evidence Act, 1872 (IEA) by coming into force in July.

In light of the same, the President of India Droupadi Murmu gave assent to the three new Criminal laws which will now be called 'The Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita, 2023', 'The Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita, 2023' and 'The Bharatiya Sakshya Adhiniyam, 2023' respectively.

The translations have been released under the provision of clause (a) of sub-section (1) of Section 5 of the Official Languages Act, 1963 (19 of 1963).

With this publication, the translated texts are now deemed to be the authoritative versions in Hindi, ensuring wider accessibility and understanding of these laws among Hindi-speaking citizens.

"The translation in Hindi of the following, namely:—The Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita, 2023; (2) The Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita, 2023 and (3) The Bharatiya Sakshya Adhiniyam, 2023 are hereby published under the authority of the President and shall be deemed to be the authoritative texts thereof in Hindi under clause (a) of sub-section (1) of section 5 of the Official Languages Act, 1963 (19 of 1963)", the notification reads.

Click here to read the Translated Laws