Chief Justice of India D Y Chandrachud today administered the oath of office to five newly appointed judges whose names were notified by the Centre after the Supreme Court warned the Government of taking a stand "that is going to be uncomfortable”.

On Saturday, the Ministry of Law and Justice notified the appointment of five new Judges to the Supreme Court. The new judges at the Supreme Court are:

1. Former Rajasthan High Court Chief Justice Pankaj Mithal;

2. Former Patna High Court Chief Justice Sanjay Karol;

3. Former Manipur High Court Chief Justice P V Sanjay Kumar;

4. Former Patna High Court Judge Ahsanuddin Amanullah; and

5. Former Allahabad High Court Judge Manoj Misra.

With the swearing-in of these five judges, the total number of judges at the Apex Court has now increased to 32 against the sanctioned strength of 34, including the CJI.

Earlier, on February 3, the Attorney General had given an assurance to the Court that the five pending appointments to the Supreme Court will be cleared soon. The Centre has also appointed Acting Chief Justices to three High Courts, whose Chief Justices were elevated to the Supreme Court.

The swearing-in ceremony can be viewed here.