The Supreme Court today has agreed to list on April 5, the plea filed by fourteen opposition parties against alleged arbitrary arrest of their leaders by central agencies like ED (Enforcement Directorate) and the CBI.

List on April 5,” said a Bench led by Chief Justice DY Chandrachud and comprising Justice PS Narasimha and Justice JB Pardiwala when the matter was mentioned by Senior Advocate Abhishek Manu Singhvi for urgent listing.

Senior Advocate Singhvi submitted before the Court that the plea moved jointly by fourteen parties is not meant to affect the existing investigations and is only intended for enforcement of pre-arrest and post-arrest guidelines.

We are not trying to affect the existing investigations. CBI-ED is being used agaisnt us. We are asking for pre arrest and post arrest guidelines,” said Senior Advocate Singhvi.

The plea filed before the Apex Court has been led by the Congress party and has been joined by 13 other political parties i.e. DMK, RJD, BRS, TMC, AAP, NCP, Shiv Sena (Udhav Thackeray), JMM, JDU, CPI, CPM, SP and the National Conference.